Menu
Log in


LUTHERAN
FAITH COMMUNITY NURSE ASSOCIATION

(LFCNA)


LFCNA Events

Upcoming LFCNA events

    • 02/22/2024
    • 1:00 PM - 1:45 PM
    • Zoom
    Register


    An invitation for you to pause in your day to replenish your heart ...

    Annette Langdon, Region 3 member and Deaconess in the ELCA is providing us an opportunity to pause and to find quiet space and renewal. In this event we will focus on a bowl as a way to reflect on our spirits and open our hearts for God’s grace and renewal. Please arrive with a bowl of your choice: cracked,  chipped, whole or one that seems to pick you!

    This event is free, but you must register to receive the Zoom link. 

    Date: Thursday, February 22, 2024

    Times:  10 am AKT, 11 am PT, 12 pm MT, 1 pm CT, 2 pm ET

    This is a repeat of the late afternoon/evening session

    • 02/22/2024
    • 6:00 PM - 6:45 PM
    • Zoom
    Register


    An invitation for you to pause in your day to replenish your heart ...

    Annette Langdon, Region 3 member and Deaconess in the ELCA is providing us an opportunity to pause and to find quiet space and renewal. In this event we will focus on a bowl as a way to reflect on our spirits and open our hearts for God’s grace and renewal. Please arrive with a bowl of your choice: cracked,  chipped, whole or one that seems to pick you!

    This event is free, but you must register to receive the Zoom link. 

    Date: Thursday, February 22, 2024

    Times: 3 pm AKT, 4 pm PT, 5 pm MT, 6 pm CT, 7 pm ET

    This is a repeat of the late morning/midday session

    • 02/29/2024
    • 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
    • Zoom

    Join your peers in sharing information about your ministry, seeking new ideas and information, and otherwise supporting one another professionally and personally.  

    Discussion topic for February 5 is End of Life Issues, Navigating Conversations,

    For more information, contact Phyllis Bruce, Ellen Ellickson,
    or Marie Wiegert

    All Director contact information is available on the 
    Member's Only Page of the website

    • 03/06/2024
    • 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
    • ZOOM Meeting

    Join your peers in sharing information about your ministry, seeking new ideas and information, and otherwise supporting one another professionally and personally.  

    For more information contact:

    Region 4 Directors Carolyn Crowe or Barb Keil

    Region 5 Director Michelle Knapp

    Region 6 Directors
    Norah Bertschy or Mary Ann Mette 

    All Director Contact information is on the
    Member's Only page of the website. 
     

    • 03/07/2024
    • 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM (EST)
    • ZOOM Meeting

    Join your peers in sharing information about your ministry, seeking new ideas and information, and otherwise supporting one another professionally and personally.  

    For more information, contact or Enid Rank or Rose Sutkins in
    Region 7 or Ruth Manchester or Marilee Tollefson in Region 8 

    All Director contact information is available on the 
    Member's Only Page of the website

    • 03/14/2024
    • 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM
    • Zoom/Virtual
    Register

    Understanding How Loneliness Influences Health and What Nurses Can Do to Help Lonely People

    Laurie Theeke, PhD, FNP-BC, GCNS-BC, FNAP, FAAN -
    Professor and Associate Dean for PhD Education at The George Washington University School of Nursing

          Laurie Theeke

    Program description: This presentation will include information about loneliness as a unique health stressor. We will delve into the relationship between belonging and loneliness, with information on how unmet need to belong and experience of loneliness can lead to poor psychological, behavioral, physical and social health outcomes. A Description of LISTEN as an intervention for loneliness along with other potential interventions will be provided and discussed.

    Objectives:

    1. Enhance knowledge on loneliness and how it elicits biopsychosocial stress responses that lead to poor health.
    2. Describe the concept of belonging and how it relates to the experience of loneliness.
    3. Discuss risks for loneliness for special populations including children, women in the perinatal period, older adults, and those in the LGBTQ+ community.
    4. Learn about how interventions for loneliness could potentially be implemented in faith communities.

    DATE: March 14, 2024
    TIME: 3-5 pm AKT, 4-6 pm PT, 5-7 pm MT, 6-8 pm CT, 7-9 pm ET

    Registration fee: $30 for LFCNA members/ $50 for non-members
    Nursing Contact hours provided: 2.0 (see below)

    Speaker Information: 
    Laurie Theeke, PhD, FNP-BC, GCNS-BC, FNAP, FAAN is Professor and Associate Dean for PhD Education at The George Washington University School of Nursing. Her program of scholarship is centered on the problem of loneliness and its contribution to negative health outcomes in persons with complex chronic illness living in rural underserved areas. Dr. Theeke is a native of the Appalachian region and as such, has developed expertise on the topic of depression and loneliness in this region, particularly focusing on understanding and how these psychosocial stressors elicit a physiological stress response and impact chronic illness outcomes. Her preliminary work included large national data set analyses of Health and Retirement data on predictors of and outcomes associated with loneliness. Dr. Theeke has received funding for projects using multiple methods to enhance what we know about the unique phenomenon of loneliness and the impact it may have on the human health experience. Dr. Theeke is the inventor of LISTEN, an intervention designed to target loneliness.

    LISTEN is based on key components of story theory and principles of cognitive restructuring. More recently, Dr. Theeke is working with multiple universities to understand how loneliness may impact the physiology of wound healing and discover how loneliness relates to substance use disorder during the opioid crisis. Dr. Theeke has over

    20 years of experience as a family nurse practitioner and clinical specialist serving rural underserved populations.

    This activity has been submitted to Montana Nurses Association for approval to award contact hours. Montana Nurses Association is accredited with distinction as an approver of nursing continuing professional development by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation. To receive contact hours for this event, attendees must attend the entire event and submit a completed evaluation form.

     
    Click here for a Flyer to post or share!



    • 04/03/2024
    • 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
    • ZOOM Meeting

    Join your peers in sharing information about your ministry, seeking new ideas and information, and otherwise supporting one another professionally and personally.  

    For more information contact:

    Region 4 Directors Carolyn Crowe or Barb Keil

    Region 5 Director Michelle Knapp

    Region 6 Directors
    Norah Bertschy or Mary Ann Mette 

    All Director Contact information is on the
    Member's Only page of the website. 
     

    • 04/03/2024
    • 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
    • Zoom

    Join your peers in sharing information about your ministry, seeking new ideas and information, and otherwise supporting one another professionally and personally.  

    Discussion topic for April 3  is Loneliness. A follow-up discussion of the Education Event on March 14.

    For more information, contact Phyllis Bruce, Ellen Ellickson,or
    Marie Wiegert

    All Director contact information is available on the 
    Member's Only Page of the website

    • 04/04/2024
    • 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM (EDT)
    • ZOOM Meeting

    Join your peers in sharing information about your ministry, seeking new ideas and information, and otherwise supporting one another professionally and personally.  

    For more information, contact Enid Rank or Rose Sutkins in Region 7 or Ruth Manchester or Marilee Tollefson in Region 8.

    All Director contact information is available on the 
    Member's Only Page of the website

    • 06/13/2024
    • 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
    • Zoom

    Join your peers in sharing information about your ministry, seeking new ideas and information, and otherwise supporting one another professionally and personally.  

    Discussion topic for June 13 is to be determined

    For more information, contact Phyllis Bruce, Ellen Ellickson,or
    Marie Wiegert

    All Director contact information is available on the 
    Member's Only Page of the website

    • 09/18/2024
    • 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
    • Zoom

    Join your peers in sharing information about your ministry, seeking new ideas and information, and otherwise supporting one another professionally and personally.  

    Discussion topic for September 18 is to be determined.

    For more information, contact Phyllis Bruce, Ellen Ellickson, or
    Marie Wiegert

    All Director contact information is available on the 
    Member's Only Page of the website

    • 11/14/2024
    • 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
    • zoom

    Join your peers in sharing information about your ministry, seeking new ideas and information, and otherwise supporting one another professionally and personally.  

    Discussion topic for November 14 is to be determined.

    For more information, contact Phyllis Bruce, Ellen Ellickson,or
    Marie Wiegert

    All Director contact information is available on the 
    Member's Only Page of the website

Last updated: 03/12/2023

 Visit us on Facebook at: 
 https://www.facebook.com/lutheranfcna

© LFCNA

Please contact us with any website recommendations or corrections at lutheranfcna@gmail.com

Click below to find the LFCNA Brochure: 
LFCNA Brochure

Email us at:
lutheranfcna@gmail.com

Mail us at:
LFCNA
6626 Eliot View Road
St. Louis Park, MN 55426


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software